BASTILLE Announce New MTV Unplugged Album Set For Release In April

Published on 23 February 2023 at 19:21

Words: Max Bradfield


Indie pop rock stalwarts Bastille have announced a new exciting album set for the 22nd of April. Like great bands before them, the band headed up by Dan Smith have a 15 song strong MTV Unplugged session locked and loaded for release.


Recorded in 2021 in front of an intimate crowd at London’s Porchester Hall, this live album is available on exclusively on limited edition vinyl as part of the Record Store Day 2023 celebrations. Within, there’s the fan favourites of ‘Pompeii’ and ‘Happier’ alongside deeper tracks like ‘Hope For The Future’ as this selection shines a light on the group’s creative versatility. ‘Hope For The Future’ was actually played live for the first time in this concert and features on the DiCaprio-produced documentary about climate change: ‘From Devil’s Breath’.


Other highlights include covers of two iconic classics including Roberta Flack’s ‘Killing Me Softly’, and Nirvana’s ‘Come As You Are’ in a poignant nod to their legendary Unplugged session. Originally aired on MTV internationally to over 180 countries, fans have been requesting the release since the original performance premiered over a year ago, so this marks a unique opportunity for those who missed out on the night to fully immerse themselves on this exclusive limited edition Record Store Day vinyl release.


Lead singer Dan Smith said of the new release:

"We’re so excited to finally release our MTV Unplugged show in full and on vinyl exclusively for Record Store Day. It was a privilege to work with some insanely talented musicians to put together these really different, special arrangements of a cross-section of our tunes. We added two new covers of songs that we love as a way of paying homage to the classic MTV Unplugged sessions we grew up on. All of us are massively proud of this record and the vinyl package we’ve put together for Record Store Day, which brilliantly supports the independent record stores that are so important to us massive fans of music, and to all of us who are lucky enough to work in music."


MTV Unplugged; Bastille’ will be available in all independent record shops as part of the annual Record Store Day celebrations on April 22nd 2023. 


Full tracklisting below:


  1. survivin’
  2. Quarter Past Midnight
  3. Blame
  4. Daniel In The Den
  5. Bad Decisions
  6. Come As You Are
  7. Give Me The Future
  8. Laughter Lines
  9. Fake It
  10. Good Grief
  11. No Bad Days
  12. Killing Me Softly With His Song
  13. Hope For The Future
  14. Happier
  15. Pompei