Single Reviews 11/09/20

Published on 11 September 2020 at 12:20

Apollo Junction display their new romantic and britpop colours on new single Borderlines, our Single of The Week this week. Borderlines is an explosive two minutes and forty-eight seconds of stomping rock that will help propel a band who next year are supporting The Kaiser Chiefs. A band clearly on the rise and ones to catch on the road next year. Borderlines is our stand out release this week and can be streamed here.


Onto more releases this week and Electronic alt-pop fella Bonze sings Don’t Wanna Go Back (out today), it is a mellow easy listen of a tune..Mancunian electronica outfit Narcissus are back with Lost Causes, a track influenced by Grandmaster Flash, Chic and all that good stuff. Lost Causes has got me nodding immediately and the vocals here really drives the song; the chorus is a catchy thing leading into a piano breakdown. It is certainly funky and another notch on the belt of a band who clearly know how to out together a tune and a half..Joe Wright looks like the type of lad who would come round and brain us if we gave him a bad review so it is a good thing all round You Know I Know is pretty great indie guitar pop with a vocal reminiscent of Tim Burgess...Dublin is fast becoming a hotspot for rising bands and we can add TV People to that list. Nothing More is garage rock slowed down with shades of Joy Division on a song that has feeling...Sweet Talker is the latest release from Crossfire Eagles who are yet another Sheffield indie rock band. It is a more straight up rock than indie tune that carries a swagger and attitude. Boasting an accessible chorus, Sweet Talker is modern day rock n roll done well...Ooberfuse do a tender cover of Yazoo’s 1982 hit Only You, a version that is appearing on their upcoming six track EP, Tears Can Only Sing. Only You is obviously a timeless classic of a song and Ooberfuse do a faithful version here...Lend Me Your Brain is taken from the forthcoming EP by London band World News. The guitars are lovely and funky and the whole thing has a great production..Cabbage have a new one with Get Outta My Brain, an industrial sounding wall of rock..Alphabet is the new single by Shame and it is very shouty with no hook...Doves have a new album and single Broken Eyes does what you would expect, a lovely track that is very Doves...Sam Fender lifts Saturday from his hit album Hypersonic Missiles, a relaxing track that showcases his vocal range. Finally this week we have the new EP from Tina Boonstra, City Of Doubt. The opener Out Of My Depth sets the standard for female indie pop artists if we are being frank; a rock attitude in a skin of pop sensibility. What Is The Rush? is slower and a more open track where Boonstra lays herself bare. Title track City Of Doubt has instant appeal while More Than Your Head is extremely catchy in the vein of Amy Shark which is the highest compliment. I Love You Like Sunshine In Bangor is a frail song about yearning before final track Talk It Over, itself a previous single release and reviewed here, end the EP on a high note. City Of Doubt is a fine collection of songs from a clearly talented artist who excels when venturing into pop territory as displayed on Out Of My Depth


You can listen to most of the tracks here on our Spotify Playlist

Add comment


Werner McMinn
a year ago

Hi Owner, similar right here: <a href="" rel="nofollow">Link Text</a>