Published on 9 March 2021 at 08:24

Words: Adam Jackson-Wright




Norwich trio, The Year In Pictures, have followed up their recent releases with their debut EP.


The EP, titled ‘Alternative Endings’, was slowly recorded and pieced together at the band’s home, during the various UK lockdowns, before being mastered in the USA by Post Animal’s Dalton Allison. 


The release has caught the attention of a number of local radio stations, including BBC Introducing, creating a buzz amongst local fans. 


The band, which formed around two years ago at university, is made up of frontman, Xav, guitarist, Dom and drummer Callum, who have been playing gigs in and around the Norwich area since the group’s inception. 


The new EP sets out to build on the sound laid down by the band’s previous material and includes two of their previous releases; ‘Nothing to Say’ and ‘Wasting My Time’, which do well in establishing themselves amongst the other tracks.


In terms of influence, the trio have spoken of the affect that other bands such as Arctic Monkeys and Mac DeMarco have had on their sound; with echoes of the former being particularly prevalent in the releases leading up to this one.


Sonically, the EP showcases a number of styles; the record’s opener, ‘Hopeless Fever’ sees the band dropping a menacing Queens Of The Stone Age inspired riff that announces the band’s presence brilliantly while the penultimate track, ‘For No One’ (not a Beatles cover) features intricate guitar lines and an almost dreamy vocal, reminiscent of the aforementioned Mac MeMarco. 


The variety shown by the band on the release goes a long way in laying down the foundations of the band’s sound, showing them to be well on their way to finding their niche. 


The Year In PIctures on Facebook




Listen to the EP in full below

Add comment


There are no comments yet.