JOHNNY MARR Releases Two New Singles From His Upcoming 'Fever Dreams Pt 2' EP

Published on 11 November 2021 at 09:40



While the image of some members of legendary Mancunian rock band The Smiths can be debated, one thing remains the same - Johnny Marr continues to create influential songs and the esteemed guitarist persists as a key figure in modern music, just like he done all those years ago in the zenith of the ‘80s. 


This week, Johnny Marr has released ‘Tenement Time’ and ‘Sensory Street’, two new singles that are set to feature on the ‘Fever Dreams Pt 2’ EP. Due for release on December 17th, the EP will preview four brand-new tracks that make up the second quarter of Johnny Marr’s forthcoming double album, ‘Fever Dreams Pts 1-4’. Both the latest releases are accompanied by their own musical videos.


Premiered by Steve Lamacq on BBC 6Music, ‘Sensory Street’ follows on electro-soul album opener ‘Spirit, Power and Soul’s anthemic strand - a startling track with strident electronics that Marr describes as, “the story of a surreal 48 hours in subterranean England”. ‘Tenement Time’ marks the end of the double album’s first half. A rousing, reflective creation fusing sonic power with an emotional potency. Both highlight ‘Fever Dreams Pts 1-4’s sheer sonic scale.


Speaking about ‘Tenement Time’, Johnny Marr said:

That’s the experience of growing up in the inner city as a little kid, running around being quite wild. This idea of “Forever, forever is mine” - it’s about running around Ardwick, bunking into warehouses, and getting chased. That was the first time I was self-consciously into culture: around people who wore certain clothes, and it was part of being a little Manchester boy, really. I have a real romanticism about that period of my life.”



The ‘Fever Dreams Pt 2’ EP will include four new songs that make up the second quarter of the double album - ‘Sensory Street’, ‘Tenement Time’, ‘Lightning People’ and ‘Hideaway Girl’. The ‘Fever Dreams Pt 2’ EP is released digitally and on very limited edition 12” transparent violet vinyl on December 17th.

Early previews of ‘Fever Dreams Pts 1-4’ (due February 25th 2022) have been met with widespread acclaim. ‘Spirit, Power and Soul’ was playlisted by BBC Radio 6 Music and BBC Radio 2, described as “his strongest solo composition yet” by the Evening Standard, “an exercise in progressive creative ambition” by DIY, “invigorating” by Uncut, with “defiance in its DNA” by CLASH and simply “banging” by The Telegraph.


‘Fever Dreams Pts 1-4’ will be available on CD and double vinyl with the official store offering exclusive limited edition white vinyl and cassettes, alongside merch bundles with signed prints. HMV and independent record stores will also be stocking a limited-edition turquoise vinyl pressing. Pre order/presale HERE.


‘Fever Dreams Pts 1-4’ Track Listing 


  1. Spirit Power & Soul
  2. Receiver
  3. All These Days
  4. Ariel
  5. Lightning People
  6. Hideaway Girl
  7. Sensory Street
  8. Tenement Time
  9. The Speed of Love
  10. Night and Day
  11. Counter-Clock World
  12. Rubicon
  13. God's Gift
  14. Ghoster
  15. The Whirl
  16. Human

2022 UK Tour Dates (with Blondie)


April 2022

Fri 22 The SSE Hydro Glasgow

Sat 24 Motorpoint Arena Cardiff

Tues 26 The O2 Arena London

Thurs 28 The Brighton Centre

Fri 29 Bonus Arena Hull


May 2022

Sun 1 AO Arena Manchester 

Mon 2 Liverpool M&S Bank Arena

Wed 4 First Direct Arena Leeds

Thurs 5 Motorpoint Arena Nottingham

Sat 7 Birmingham Utilita Arena

Add comment


There are no comments yet.