Published on 23 January 2022 at 22:51

Words: Adam Wright


We’re here again for the week’s round up of some of the finest indie releases. We hope to add to your week with this brand new mix of tunes.


As always, we’ll start with this week’s Single Of The Week and we’ve gone for ‘A55’ by the incredibly exciting English Teacher. The Leeds-based alt rockers have been courting attention within the indie scene for months now. This new track, which is taken from their debut EP, only adds to excitement surrounding the group. The tune exemplifies the band’s vivid musicianship and genre-dodging style. This is a band fast approaching the heights of indie stardom.  


Next up is the new one from Dead Star Talk. The Danish/German alt-rock band dropped ‘Soul On The Wire’ on Friday and with it, really showed off their Britpop influences. The single could have been released in 1996, with its anthemic chorus, soaring vocal and squealing, clean guitar lines. The tune is taken from the group’s forthcoming album, which drops next month. 


Next on the list is the new tune from Astrid. The new track, named ‘Through The Darkness Of Your Life’, marks a return for the band, who disbanded back in 2004. Now, getting on for two decades later, they’re set to release a new album. The single  itself features psychedelic rhythms and The Beatles-like vocals, which create an overall dreamy sound that speaks of the band’s maturity. 


Moving on and we’ve got the latest drop from the synth trio, Sparkling. Their new release, ‘Not In The Right Place’ is a belter of a tune. The Cologne-based band have taken inspiration from the likes of LCD Soundsystem to create an uplifting, hypnotic soundscape guaranteed to blow away even the most stubborn of cobwebs. 


Next it’s Liverpool-based indie rockers, Polar States. The track, called ‘So Much Happened Since You Came’, exemplifies the band’s energy: pounding choruses provide the bite while soft verses demonstrate the bands dexterity. The tune was announced alongside their debut EP, due for release in April. 


Sticking with indie-rock with this next one, and it's the new tune from the incredibly exciting Eades. ‘Delusion Spree’ is the title track from their much anticipated debut album. The tune’s scratchy guitar lines give the track a nostalgic feeling and its wishful and personal lyrics ensure its timelessness. It’s a great tune from one of the most exciting bands right now. 


Lastly for this week we have another release that comes to us from overseas. It’s Subterfuge with their new release, ’The Good Good’. Its fusion of alt-pop and rock features jangly guitars, floaty lyrics and wobbly synths helping to create a soundscape that leaves little to not be desired. The track is taken from the group’s forthcoming album, due for release in March. An album we’ll be looking forward to. 


You can listen to all of the above releases on our Spotify Playlist here.

Add comment


There are no comments yet.