SUEDE Announce New Album 'Autofiction' And Two London Dates

Published on 31 May 2022 at 06:11

Image: Dean Chalkley



As a founding father of the Britpop revolution, Suede still resonates as an important band in the modern era. Taking English indie pop/rock music away from the swirling layers of shoegaze and dance-pop fusions of Madchester and reinstating such conventions of British pop as mystique and the three-minute single, Suede are back with their ninth studio album ‘Autofiction’, which is due for release on 16th September 2022. You can pre-order the album here.


Going back to basics, Brett Anderson, Mat Osman, Simon Gilbert, Richard Oakes, and Neil Codling schlepped to a rehearsal studio in deserted Kings Cross to collect a key, hump their own gear, set up and start playing. 


Speaking about ‘Autofiction’, Brett Anderson said: “The new album is our punk record. No whistles and bells. Just the five of us in a room with all the glitches and fuckups revealed; the band themselves exposed in all their primal mess”.


Autofiction’ was recorded live at Konk studios in North London with long-time Suede collaborator, Ed Buller. Ed first worked with the band producing their debut single ‘The Drowners’, which sees its 30th anniversary this month.


If 30 years ago ‘The Drowners’ was a rattling anthem for the blurred sexuality and vivacity of unusual youth, then Autofiction’s grappling with concerns of a different point in life sound no less vital. “Autofiction has a natural freshness, it's where we want to be,” says Brett Anderson. And where Suede wants to be is, in a way, the same place as they were when they began 30 years ago – a group of people living off the raw sensation of creating music together in a room. “When we were rehearsing and writing this record it was this sheer, physical rush. That thing where you're hanging on for dear life,” says bass player Mat Osman.


Following the release of Autofiction, October 2022 will see two special intimate shows at London’s Electric Ballroom, with more live activity soon to be announced. Electric Ballroom tickets are on sale now at 


2022 Tour Dates


05 London, Electric Ballroom

06 London, Electric Ballroom


Autofiction track listing

  1. She Still Leads Me On
  2. Personality Disorder
  3. 15 Again
  4. The Only Way I Can Love You
  5. That Boy on the Stage
  6. Drive Myself Home
  7. Black Ice
  8. Shadow Self
  9. It’s Always the Quiet Ones
  10. What am I Without You?
  11. Turn off Your Brain and Yell



Pre-order 'Autofiction' here


Add comment


There are no comments yet.