'You're Welcome', The Debut EP From MODERN GUILT Is Out Now

Published on 25 June 2021 at 00:49

London based band Modern Guilt have today released their debut EP, 'You're Welcome'. The five track release includes previous singles 'Hoping For The Hoping' and 'Get Along', as well as the lead track 'Double Denim'.


With seals of approval from Bobbie Gillespie (Primal Scream) and John Kennedy (Radio X), this debut EP has been much anticipated. Influences and inspiration have come from genres such as soul, blues, surf and garage rock with the band stamping their own sound across the five songs.


'Double Denim' opens the EP in fine style, the baggy drums and solid guitar riff hitting the mark before singer Jaz, who has one of the finest rock voice you'll hear, delivers a strong vocal melody. 'Hoping For The Hoping' has a classic rock feel; 'One-Fifty' a familiar The Beatles vibe. The EP as a whole is well rounded - a contemporary take on retro influences.



The video for opening track ‘Double Denim’ (above) creates a narrative drawn from classic driving movies  set against a backdrop of desolate London streets.


The EP was produced by Mikey Buckley, and the production here really is something,  while the eye-catching work was created by the Edinburgh based Marinello Studio. 



Vocalist and songwriter Jaz notes his lyrics on the EPare a coming to terms with who you are and how you’ve changed. It’s about pinpointing where we stand in our own lives when things start to shift.”


Modern Guilt have provided a fine collection of songs with their 'You're Welcome' EP, which is out now on all major streaming platforms.








Add comment


There are no comments yet.